Skip to content


The various types of constitutions include:

  • Written Constitution: These are the laws of the country that are found in a single document (book) at a particular time. E.g. Nigeria 1999 constitution.
  • Unwritten constitution: This is when all the important law of a country are found in many documents (but not in a single document). The Great Britain operations an unwritten constitution.
  • Flexible Constitution: This is when the process of amending a constitution is not difficult/complicated.
  • This when the process of amending a constitution is difficult/cumbersome/complicated.
  • Federal constitution: This is a type of constitution in which the powers of the state are shared between two or more levels of government. Examples of countries are Nigeria, Canada and the United States.
  • Unitary Constitution: This is a type of constitution in which all the powers of a state (country) is performed by the central government. i.e. the central authority performs all governmental powers. Examples of a country that practices this system/form of constitution are Ghana, Great Britain, France, Italy, Austria, New Zealand and South Africa. The central have the power to create and dissolve delegated to its subordinate government.
  • Confederal Constitution: This is a loose association of independent/sovereign states. It is a constitution based on loose union of independent or sovereign states. A confederation had existed for a short time. The two countries only agreed on few items of legislations inter-governmental powers.
See also  Self-Employment



  • Define written and unwritten constitutions

List two (2) countries each which practice(s) flexible and rigid constitution


Building & maintaining an elearning portal is very expensive, that is why you see other elearning websites charge fees. Help to keep this learning portal free by telling mum or dad to donate or support us. We accept grants, sponsorships & support to help take this to the next big level and reach out to more people. Thank you so much. Click here to donate


    1. We have constant quality lesson day by day. We hope to add it or lucky enough get a teacher that can provide contents to Rigid Constitution. Thank you and enjoy your study here

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

School Portal NG
error: Content is protected !!