Skip to content

Division Spermatophyta



KINGDOM PLANTAE General Characteristics of Kingdom Plantae They are multicellular and eukaryotic. They are photosynthetic and have pigment chlorophyll. Their cells have cellulose cell walls. They reproduce sexually, others asexually. Kingdom Plantae has three major divisions: Bryophyta, Pteridophyta   Division Bryophyta These include mosses and liverworts. Plant body is not differentiated into root, stem and leaves. They have simple structures which resemble leaves and stems. They have rhizoids for absorbing water and anchoring the plant to substratum. Life cycle consists of two morphologically different plants, the gametophyte and sporophyte. The two alternate. They show alternation of generations. The gamete producing gametophyte is the persistent plant. The sporophyte is attached to the gametophyte and is nutritionally dependent on it. They lack vascular system. Sexual reproduction is dependent on water. KINGDOM MONERA Division Pteridophyta: These include ferns and horsetails. General Characteristics They have root and shoot system. Leaves are compound known as… Read More »KINGDOM PLANTAE

School Portal NG
error: Content is protected !!