1. MEANING OF CHOREOGRAPHY: Choreography is art of designing sequence of rhythmic movements or dances. Choreography is also the arrangement of the movements of the dance, sometimes in uniform style.
  2. PROCESSES OF A CHOREOGRAPHER: The processes a choreographer must undertake when performing choreography include:
  3. Conception of the dance idea: The choreographer conceives the dance idea or thinks deeply about the dance steps to perform choreography.
  4. Gathering of the movement: The choreographer gathers the dance movements.
  5. Creating final structure and polishing performance: This activity is done during dress rehearsal.




REVIEW OF TRIAD: Triad refers to a set of three notes or pitches that are be stacked vertically on a staff. The triad’s members from lowest pitched tone to the highest are called

  1. The root
  2. The third ( Its interval above the root note being the minor third ( three semitones ) or major third (four semitones)
  • The fifth ( Its interval above the third being a minor or major third or a major third, hence its interval above the root being a diminished fifth ( seven semitones ) or augmented fifth ( eight semitones )



  1. C major triad: This uses notes C, E, G. This spells a triad skipping over D and F.
  2. Major triad: This contains a major third and a perfect fifth interval, symbolized: R 3 5   as semitones. The interval C to E is a major 3rd and E to G a major 3rd.
  3. Minor triad: This contains a minor third and perfect fifth interval, symbolized as R 3 5. Minor triad consists of A, C, E. The interval A to C is a minor 3rd and C to E a major 3rd.
  4. Diminished triad: This contains a minor third and a diminished fifth, symbolized: R 3 5. The dimnished interval consists of  B,  D , F  while B becomes diminished.
  5. Augmented triad: This contains a major third and augmented fifth , symbolized : R 3  5 . Augmented triad consists of  D,   F,A  while D becomes augmented.
  6. Primary triads are built on the tonic, sub dominant. For instance, primary triads are built on chord I, IV or V degree of every major scale. The roots begin on the 1st 4th and 5th degrees of the diatonic scale otherwise symbolized I, IV,



  1. Double the root.
  2. Do not omit the 3rd.
  3. Avoid consecutive 5

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *